BYD M9
PEOPLE MOVER

WATT MATTERS?
The M9 takes a different route to electrifying family transport: seven seats, sliding doors and a plug-in hybrid drivetrain. For families who find electric SUVs awkward, the people-mover format has genuine appeal.
THE BASICS
The orderable seven-seat Premium has a 36.6 kWh battery and claims 145 km electric WLTP range. Its 850 km figure includes petrol. The Australian brochure specifies 7 kW AC and 73 kW maximum DC charging. The $72,990 vehicle price excludes on-road costs. The eight-seat Dynamic remains coming soon.
THE NUMBERS
- Price
- From $72,990 RRP · M9 Premium · Manufacturer-linked Melbourne configurator vehicle subtotal before on-road costs and options. Standard included paint and interior. The separate VIC 3000 private-registration driveaway estimate is $78,251.75; final quote may vary.
- Battery
- 36.6 kWh Blade lithium iron phosphate battery
- Claimed range
- 145 km electric WLTP; up to 850 km combined petrol/electric WLTP
- Charging
- 7 kW AC / 73 kW maximum DC; DC 30-80% in 18 minutes. Vehicle-to-load output up to 6 kW.
- Drivetrain
- Front-wheel drive
- Power
- 218 kW / 315 Nm combined system output
- Seats
- 7, in a 2+2+3 configuration
- Warranty
- Vehicle: 6 years / 150,000 km. Battery: 8 years / 160,000 km.
- Boot space
- 470 L with all seats upright; manufacturer measurement method not specified
- Comfort
- Second-row captain chairs; powered sliding doors.
- Technology
- 15.6-inch centre display; 360-degree cameras.
Price checked 2026-10-17.. RRP excludes registration, insurance, stamp duty and applicable dealer or delivery charges.
Figures belong to the variants named above. WLTP and NEDC are different tests; neither promises your real-world range. Charging claims depend on the charger, battery temperature and state of charge.
Specifications checked 2026-10-17..
Confirmed · Last checked: 2026-10-17. Some prices and specifications await final verification and will be marked Confirmed once checked. Always confirm finer details with your salesperson, dealer or manufacturer representative.
VARIANTS AND PRICES
Swipe or scroll across to view the selected variants.
| Details | M9 Premium |
|---|---|
| Price | From $72,990 RRP before on-road costsManufacturer-linked Melbourne configurator vehicle subtotal before on-road costs and options. Standard included paint and interior. The separate VIC 3000 private-registration driveaway estimate is $78,251.75; final quote may vary. |
| Battery | 36.6 kWh Blade lithium iron phosphate battery |
| Claimed range | 145 km electric WLTP; up to 850 km combined petrol/electric WLTP |
| Power | 218 kW / 315 Nm combined system output |
| Charging | 7 kW AC / 73 kW maximum DC; DC 30-80% in 18 minutes. Vehicle-to-load output up to 6 kW. |
| Drivetrain | Front-wheel drive |
| Seats | 7, in a 2+2+3 configuration |
| Warranty | Vehicle: 6 years / 150,000 km. Battery: 8 years / 160,000 km. |
| Boot space | 470 L with all seats upright; manufacturer measurement method not specified |
| Comfort | Second-row captain chairs; powered sliding doors. |
| Technology | 15.6-inch centre display; 360-degree cameras. |
THE WATTCAR TAKE
The M9 could make more sense than a fashionable SUV for families who regularly use every seat. The real test will be cabin flexibility, long-trip comfort and whether its substantial electric range is achievable in family use.
GO FURTHER
MANUFACTURER WEBSITEFor the configurator, local stock and a written quote.