Selected Seal 6, Seal 6 Touring, Sealion 5/6/7/8 and Shark 6 variants.
Order by 21 Dec; delivery by 31 Dec. Excludes fleet, demos and stacked promotions.
Offer details and WattCar takeMEDIUM SUV

The Sealion 5 brings BYD's plug-in hybrid formula to another aggressively priced family SUV. It aims squarely at buyers who want electric commuting without committing to a battery-only car.
Essential and Premium versions use different battery capacities and claim 71km and 100km electric range respectively under NEDC. Both are front-wheel drive and available in Australia.
Price checked 2026-10-17.. RRP excludes registration, insurance, stamp duty and applicable dealer or delivery charges.
Figures belong to the variants named above. WLTP and NEDC are different tests; neither promises your real-world range. Charging claims depend on the charger, battery temperature and state of charge.
Specifications checked 2026-10-17..
Confirmed · Last checked: 2026-10-17. Some prices and specifications await final verification and will be marked Confirmed once checked. Always confirm finer details with your salesperson, dealer or manufacturer representative.
Swipe or scroll across to view the selected variants.
| Details | SEALION 5 Essential | SEALION 5 Premium |
|---|---|---|
| Price | From $33,990 RRP before on-road costsAustralian manufacturer configurator base price. Excludes on-road costs, optional paint and accessories; offers are separate. | From $37,990 RRP before on-road costsAustralian manufacturer configurator base price. Excludes on-road costs, optional paint and accessories; offers are separate. |
| Battery | 12.9 kWh BYD Blade Battery; manufacturer capacity, gross/usable basis not specified | 18.3 kWh BYD Blade Battery; manufacturer capacity, gross/usable basis not specified |
| Claimed range | 71 km NEDC electric range | 100 km NEDC electric range |
| Power | 156 kW combined; claimed 0-100 km/h in 7.7 seconds | 156 kW combined; claimed 0-100 km/h in 8.1 seconds |
| Charging | 3.3 kW AC; no DC charging. V2L supported. | 3.3 kW AC; no DC charging. V2L supported. |
| Drivetrain | Front-wheel drive | Front-wheel drive |
| Seats | 5 | 5 |
| Warranty | Vehicle: 6 years / 150,000 km. Battery: 8 years / 160,000 km. | Vehicle: 6 years / 150,000 km. Battery: 8 years / 160,000 km. |
| Boot space | 463 L rear cargo with rear seats upright; manufacturer capacity, measurement method not specified. | 463 L rear cargo with rear seats upright; manufacturer capacity, measurement method not specified. |
| Comfort | Synthetic leather seats; manual front-seat adjustment. | Heated and ventilated front seats; panoramic sunroof; power tailgate. |
| Technology | 10.1-inch touchscreen; rear-view camera. | 12.8-inch touchscreen; 360-degree camera; front parking sensors. |
The value argument is obvious, but the test cycle matters. A 100km NEDC claim should not be read as a guaranteed 100km of everyday electric driving.
Selected Seal 6, Seal 6 Touring, Sealion 5/6/7/8 and Shark 6 variants.
Order by 21 Dec; delivery by 31 Dec. Excludes fleet, demos and stacked promotions.
Offer details and WattCar takeEligible Seal 6/Touring, Sealion 5/6/8 and Shark 6 variants.
36 months; no minimum deposit or balloon. Approve by 21 Dec; settle/deliver by 31 Dec. $30,000/five-year comparison example; fees and credit approval apply. Dealer origination fee can be $1,495.
Offer details and WattCar takeFor the configurator, local stock and a written quote.