BACK TO EVERY WATTCAR
WATTCAR PROFILE · BEV

HYUNDAI KONA ELECTRIC

SMALL SUV

WattCar Rating 7.0/10Variant research assessment
Hyundai Kona Electric shown in full beside a charger
Hyundai
Kona Electric Premium variant shown.

WATT MATTERS?

The Kona Electric has evolved from an early EV curiosity into a mature small SUV. Its familiar shape and straightforward purpose make it an easy entry point for buyers new to electric motoring.

THE BASICS

A five-seat battery-electric compact SUV with Australian grades offering different battery capacities, equipment and range. It is designed for everyday family use without the footprint of a larger IONIQ model.

THE NUMBERS

Price
From $47,990 drive-away · KONA Electric Standard Range MY27 · National drive-away offer through 2026-12-31. Purchase and delivery must occur within the campaign period. Participating dealers; new stock without options. Excludes fleet, government and rental buyers and other offers.
Battery
48.6 kWh manufacturer capacity; gross/usable basis not specified
Claimed range
370 km WLTP electric range on 17-inch wheels.
Charging
10.4 kW AC; 100 kW DC.
Drivetrain
Front-wheel drive
Power
99 kW combined; 255 Nm combined
Seats
5
Warranty
Vehicle: 5 years / unlimited km, extended to 7 years when scheduled servicing meets Hyundai dealer conditions (eligible vehicles first registered from 1 June 2025). Battery: 8 years / 160,000 km. Commercial-use limits apply.
Boot space
407 L rear cargo, rear seats upright; VDA
Energy consumption
14.8 kWh/100 km WLTP combined; manufacturer laboratory figure
Comfort
Five seats; premium cloth upholstery.
Technology
12.3-inch infotainment screen.

Price checked 2026-10-17.. RRP excludes registration, insurance, stamp duty and applicable dealer or delivery charges.

Figures belong to the variants named above. WLTP and NEDC are different tests; neither promises your real-world range. Charging claims depend on the charger, battery temperature and state of charge.

Specifications checked 2026-10-17..

Confirmed · Last checked: 2026-10-17. Some prices and specifications await final verification and will be marked Confirmed once checked. Always confirm finer details with your salesperson, dealer or manufacturer representative.

VARIANTS AND PRICES

Swipe or scroll across to view the selected variants.

HYUNDAI KONA ELECTRIC Australian grades
DetailsKONA Electric Standard RangeKONA Electric Extended RangeKONA Electric Premium Extended Range
PriceFrom $47,990 drive-awayNational drive-away offer through 2026-12-31. Purchase and delivery must occur within the campaign period. Participating dealers; new stock without options. Excludes fleet, government and rental buyers and other offers.From $51,990 drive-awayNational drive-away offer through 2026-12-31. Purchase and delivery must occur within the campaign period. Participating dealers; new stock without options. Excludes fleet, government and rental buyers and other offers.From $62,990 drive-awayNational drive-away offer through 2026-12-31. Purchase and delivery must occur within the campaign period. Participating dealers; new stock without options. Excludes fleet, government and rental buyers and other offers.
Battery48.6 kWh manufacturer capacity; gross/usable basis not specified64.8 kWh manufacturer capacity; gross/usable basis not specified64.8 kWh manufacturer capacity; gross/usable basis not specified
Claimed range370 km WLTP electric range on 17-inch wheels.505 km WLTP electric range on 17-inch wheels.444 km WLTP electric range on 19-inch wheels.
Power99 kW combined; 255 Nm combined150 kW combined; 255 Nm combined150 kW combined; 255 Nm combined
Charging10.4 kW AC; 100 kW DC.10.4 kW AC; 100 kW DC.10.4 kW AC; 100 kW DC.
DrivetrainFront-wheel driveFront-wheel driveFront-wheel drive
Seats555
WarrantyVehicle: 5 years / unlimited km, extended to 7 years when scheduled servicing meets Hyundai dealer conditions (eligible vehicles first registered from 1 June 2025). Battery: 8 years / 160,000 km. Commercial-use limits apply.Vehicle: 5 years / unlimited km, extended to 7 years when scheduled servicing meets Hyundai dealer conditions (eligible vehicles first registered from 1 June 2025). Battery: 8 years / 160,000 km. Commercial-use limits apply.Vehicle: 5 years / unlimited km, extended to 7 years when scheduled servicing meets Hyundai dealer conditions (eligible vehicles first registered from 1 June 2025). Battery: 8 years / 160,000 km. Commercial-use limits apply.
Boot space407 L rear cargo, rear seats upright; VDA407 L rear cargo, rear seats upright; VDA407 L rear cargo, rear seats upright; VDA
Energy consumption14.8 kWh/100 km WLTP combined; manufacturer laboratory figure14.7 kWh/100 km WLTP combined; manufacturer laboratory figure16.7 kWh/100 km WLTP combined; manufacturer laboratory figure
ComfortFive seats; premium cloth upholstery.Five seats; premium cloth upholstery; 17-inch wheels.Five seats; leather-appointed upholstery; heated and ventilated front seats; heated rear outboard seats.
Technology12.3-inch infotainment screen.12.3-inch infotainment screen.12.3-inch infotainment screen.

THE WATTCAR TAKE

The Kona Electric's strength is that it doesn't ask buyers to change their expectations of a practical small SUV. Its challenge is price, because newer rivals are becoming harder to ignore.

WattCar Ratings reflect available research and testing where undertaken. Updated as we learn more.

CURRENT OFFERS

$47,990–$65,990 drive-away

Standard Range $47,990; Extended Range $51,990; Elite Extended Range $54,990; Premium Extended Range $62,990; Premium + N Line $65,990.

New stock with no added options, purchased and delivered between 1 Oct and 31 Dec through participating Hyundai dealers, while stocks last. Excludes government, fleet and rental buyers and cannot be combined with other offers.

Offer details and WattCar take
3.90% p.a. comparison rate

Selected in-stock new and demonstrator KONA Electric models; 10% deposit and maximum 36-month term. The advertised MY27 Standard Range GFV example is $149 per week over 36 months/45,000km with a $4,600 deposit and $25,400 final payment.

Applications by 31 Dec 2026 and settlement by 14 Jan 2027. Approved applicants only; used vehicles and fleet, government and rental buyers excluded. Fees, lending and eligibility criteria apply; dealer agency fee may be up to $1,495. The comparison-rate example is $30,000 over five years.

Offer details and WattCar take

GO FURTHER

MANUFACTURER WEBSITE

For the configurator, local stock and a written quote.