SMART #5
FAMILY SUV
WATT MATTERS?
The smart #5 takes the once-tiny brand into proper family-SUV territory. Its boxier design and more ambitious technology mark a major departure from smart's origins.
THE BASICS
A larger five-seat battery-electric SUV with a family-oriented cabin and model-dependent range and charging capability. Australian variant details require final confirmation.
THE NUMBERS
- Price
- From $58,900 RRP · smart #5 Pro+ · Australian advertised base recommended retail price, excluding on-road costs, paint and accessories. Configured examples can include additional charges. Manufacturer announced retail deliveries from November 2026; confirm allocation and delivery with dealer. No limited introductory incentive deducted.
- Battery
- 100 kWh total / 94 kWh usable; nickel cobalt manganese battery; 800 V architecture
- Claimed range
- 590 km WLTP combined electric range
- Charging
- 22 kW AC; 400 kW maximum DC manufacturer claim. Claimed DC 10-80% in approximately 18 minutes using suitable 400 kW equipment under stated conditions; actual charging depends on battery and infrastructure.
- Drivetrain
- Rear-wheel drive
- Power
- 267 kW manufacturer maximum output; 373 Nm manufacturer maximum torque; 0-100 km/h in 6.5 seconds
- Seats
- 5
- Warranty
- Vehicle: 5 years / 150,000 km. High-voltage battery: 8 years / 150,000 km, minimum 70% capacity; servicing and warranty terms apply.
- Boot space
- 630 L rear cargo, rear seats upright; manufacturer measurement method and loading height not specified; front storage excluded
- Energy consumption
- 18.4 kWh/100 km WLTP combined
- Comfort
- Five seats; artificial leather upholstery; powered and heated front seats; panoramic roof.
- Technology
- 10.25-inch driver display; 13-inch OLED central screen; nine-speaker audio.
Price checked 2026-10-17.. RRP excludes registration, insurance, stamp duty and applicable dealer or delivery charges.
Figures belong to the variants named above. WLTP and NEDC are different tests; neither promises your real-world range. Charging claims depend on the charger, battery temperature and state of charge.
Specifications checked 2026-10-17..
Confirmed · Last checked: 2026-10-17. Some prices and specifications await final verification and will be marked Confirmed once checked. Always confirm finer details with your salesperson, dealer or manufacturer representative.
VARIANTS AND PRICES
Swipe or scroll across to view the selected variants.
| Details | smart #5 Pro+ | smart #5 Premium | smart #5 BRABUS |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price | From $58,900 RRP before on-road costsAustralian advertised base recommended retail price, excluding on-road costs, paint and accessories. Configured examples can include additional charges. Manufacturer announced retail deliveries from November 2026; confirm allocation and delivery with dealer. No limited introductory incentive deducted. | From $63,900 RRP before on-road costsAustralian advertised base recommended retail price, excluding on-road costs, paint and accessories. Configured examples can include additional charges. Manufacturer announced retail deliveries from November 2026; confirm allocation and delivery with dealer. No limited introductory incentive deducted. | From $73,900 RRP before on-road costsAustralian advertised base recommended retail price, excluding on-road costs, paint and accessories. Configured examples can include additional charges. Manufacturer announced retail deliveries from November 2026; confirm allocation and delivery with dealer. No limited introductory incentive deducted. |
| Battery | 100 kWh total / 94 kWh usable; nickel cobalt manganese battery; 800 V architecture | 100 kWh total / 94 kWh usable; nickel cobalt manganese battery; 800 V architecture | 100 kWh total / 94 kWh usable; nickel cobalt manganese battery; 800 V architecture |
| Claimed range | 590 km WLTP combined electric range | 590 km WLTP combined electric range | 540 km WLTP combined electric range |
| Power | 267 kW manufacturer maximum output; 373 Nm manufacturer maximum torque; 0-100 km/h in 6.5 seconds | 267 kW manufacturer maximum output; 373 Nm manufacturer maximum torque; 0-100 km/h in 6.5 seconds | 475 kW manufacturer maximum output; 710 Nm manufacturer maximum torque; 0-100 km/h in 3.8 seconds |
| Charging | 22 kW AC; 400 kW maximum DC manufacturer claim. Claimed DC 10-80% in approximately 18 minutes using suitable 400 kW equipment under stated conditions; actual charging depends on battery and infrastructure. | 22 kW AC; 400 kW maximum DC manufacturer claim. Claimed DC 10-80% in approximately 18 minutes using suitable 400 kW equipment under stated conditions; actual charging depends on battery and infrastructure. | 22 kW AC; 400 kW maximum DC manufacturer claim. Claimed DC 10-80% in approximately 18 minutes using suitable 400 kW equipment under stated conditions; actual charging depends on battery and infrastructure. |
| Drivetrain | Rear-wheel drive | Rear-wheel drive | All-wheel drive |
| Seats | 5 | 5 | 5 |
| Warranty | Vehicle: 5 years / 150,000 km. High-voltage battery: 8 years / 150,000 km, minimum 70% capacity; servicing and warranty terms apply. | Vehicle: 5 years / 150,000 km. High-voltage battery: 8 years / 150,000 km, minimum 70% capacity; servicing and warranty terms apply. | Vehicle: 5 years / 150,000 km. High-voltage battery: 8 years / 150,000 km, minimum 70% capacity; servicing and warranty terms apply. |
| Boot space | 630 L rear cargo, rear seats upright; manufacturer measurement method and loading height not specified; front storage excluded | 630 L rear cargo, rear seats upright; manufacturer measurement method and loading height not specified; front storage excluded | 630 L rear cargo, rear seats upright; manufacturer measurement method and loading height not specified; front storage excluded |
| Energy consumption | 18.4 kWh/100 km WLTP combined | 18.4 kWh/100 km WLTP combined | 19.9 kWh/100 km WLTP combined |
| Comfort | Five seats; artificial leather upholstery; powered and heated front seats; panoramic roof. | Five seats; Duo Leather upholstery; powered, heated and ventilated front seats; heated rear seats; heat pump; panoramic roof. | Five seats; Dinamica upholstery; powered and heated front seats with ventilation; heated rear seats; heat pump; panoramic roof. |
| Technology | 10.25-inch driver display; 13-inch OLED central screen; nine-speaker audio. | 10.25-inch driver display; 13-inch OLED central screen; 13-inch OLED passenger screen, head-up display and 20-speaker Sennheiser audio. | 10.25-inch driver display; 13-inch OLED central screen; 13-inch OLED passenger screen, head-up display and 20-speaker Sennheiser audio. |
THE WATTCAR TAKE
The #5 may be the most convincing smart for households that need genuine space. Its challenge is proving that the badge means something beyond an unusual name in a crowded market.
GO FURTHER
MANUFACTURER WEBSITEFor the configurator, local stock and a written quote.
